PDA

View Full Version : Posting Pics and general updates



Eskiman
04-12-2016, 02:18 PM
I don't understand the "URL" stuff, can someone explain how to post pics to an old guy with no computer background or training (small words please )

Esks1949
04-14-2016, 03:27 PM
I don't understand the "URL" stuff, can someone explain how to post pics to an old guy with no computer background or training (small words please )

The easiest way and most foolproof way is like this.

Type in then paste your link here

the first img opens up the link and then the / "closes" it. This is the best way and should work if your link is good.
Cheers;)

boydo
04-15-2016, 10:01 AM
There must have been complaints...

I can't post pics of any kind. Can't even change my avatar!

Looner
04-15-2016, 03:06 PM
There must have been complaints...

I can't post pics of any kind. Can't even change my avatar!

Wasn't me I guarantee that, in fact I would like to file a complaint against whoever filed a complaint against you ;)

Eskiman
04-18-2016, 11:37 AM
The easiest way and most foolproof way is like this.

Type in then paste your link here

the first img opens up the link and then the / "closes" it. This is the best way and should work if your link is good.
Cheers;)

I'm sorry for being so dense but if for example I wanted to post the pic only from this page (not the page itself):
http://cfl-scrapbook.no-ip.org/Scott.Tom-Edm.php
what is the link to put between the IMG parts?

Or better yet one of my own pics on my computer already???

glenvb
04-18-2016, 11:56 AM
http://cfl-scrapbook.no-ip.org/images/Scott.Tom-Edm4.JPG

Right-click the image, select "Copy image location". Then here on this site, select "Insert Image", click on "From URL", paste the link into the box, and uncheck the check box.

Hugoagogo
04-18-2016, 11:59 AM
What glenvb said. :)

boydo
04-18-2016, 12:46 PM
I've tried to upload stuff from my phone, work computer, home computer... Using Explorer and Chrome...
Just tells me that the upload failed.

When I try to use an image from say Twitter or Facebook it says the same thing.

Hugoagogo
04-18-2016, 01:16 PM
I've had issues using link addresses from pictures in facebook feeds, but if I click on the picture and expand it, then use the link address, I've had no problems

Eskiman
04-18-2016, 01:40 PM
http://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0494/9977/products/23_53c44f7493ac66.58310515_201204_eskimos0016-edit_v2_large_ba9b99e1-5d16-41df-ab0a-8dfd60e4ba5a.jpeg?v=1457000961

Thanks guys :)
I can post this by right clicking it and "copy shortcut" with your instructions otherwise.
The Tommy Scott pic however I can not choose copy shortcut and "copy image location" is not even an option for either pic.

pizmo
04-18-2016, 03:02 PM
I've tried to upload stuff from my phone, work computer, home computer... Using Explorer and Chrome...
Just tells me that the upload failed.

When I try to use an image from say Twitter or Facebook it says the same thing.

There are certain standards applied to the content of the pictures. Fortunately, sending nude pictures of yourself violates these standards, hence, no upload allowed.

boydo
04-18-2016, 03:21 PM
There are certain standards applied to the content of the pictures. Fortunately, sending nude pictures of yourself violates these standards, hence, no upload allowed.

Curses!!! Foiled again...

Shaved my back for nothing then it seems!

- - - Updated - - -


There are certain standards applied to the content of the pictures. Fortunately, sending nude pictures of yourself violates these standards, hence, no upload allowed.

Curses!!! Foiled again...

Shaved my back for nothing then it seems!

GungaDin
04-19-2016, 09:57 AM
http://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0494/9977/products/23_53c44f7493ac66.58310515_201204_eskimos0016-edit_v2_large_ba9b99e1-5d16-41df-ab0a-8dfd60e4ba5a.jpeg?v=1457000961

Thanks guys :)
I can post this by right clicking it and "copy shortcut" with your instructions otherwise.
The Tommy Scott pic however I can not choose copy shortcut and "copy image location" is not even an option for either pic.

Not all web content is available for copying and the site owner can disable downloading of content, or reposting using a URL, which makes sense if they're trying to protect their content.

glenvb
04-19-2016, 10:09 AM
Not all web content is available for copying and the site owner can disable downloading of content, or reposting using a URL, which makes sense if they're trying to protect their content.

True, but that can't be Eskiman's problem, since (as you can see from my post) I was able to post the Tom Scott picture just fine.

Maybe Eskiman is using a Mac? In that case, I'm so sorry for you.

Eskiman
04-19-2016, 12:17 PM
True, but that can't be Eskiman's problem, since (as you can see from my post) I was able to post the Tom Scott picture just fine.

Maybe Eskiman is using a Mac? In that case, I'm so sorry for you.

LOL not a mac, maybe it's my old work computer. Will try home computer.
Thank you all for your help and patience! :thup:

Hugoagogo
04-19-2016, 01:05 PM
The Tommy Scott pic however I can not choose copy shortcut and "copy image location" is not even an option for either pic.

Strange - if you are not seeing this when you right click on that Scott picture - I am baffled. Not like I'm a computer expert though :p

http://www.esksfans.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=10732&d=1461092668
10732

GungaDin
04-19-2016, 11:09 PM
What you see when you right click would depend on the browser you're using. "Old work computer" might have an old version of Internet Explorer (at least ours do). Firefox or Chrome will give you a different result, and a newer IE version may do the same. Good luck.

Hugoagogo
04-19-2016, 11:46 PM
What you see when you right click would depend on the browser you're using. "Old work computer" might have an old version of Internet Explorer (at least ours do). Firefox or Chrome will give you a different result, and a newer IE version may do the same. Good luck.

Thanks for that - this is why I make no claims to be an expert on computers. I try to help and I wind up confusing the frack outta people. :)

Eskiman
04-20-2016, 09:34 AM
What you see when you right click would depend on the browser you're using. "Old work computer" might have an old version of Internet Explorer (at least ours do). Firefox or Chrome will give you a different result, and a newer IE version may do the same. Good luck.

YES! Tried google chrome and everything is good, Thanks Fellas!

boydo
04-20-2016, 03:06 PM
Angelus said it's not just me...a few people have been having trouble uploading pics (himself included) so I don't feel as bad now.

Esks1949
05-17-2016, 08:59 PM
I tried changing my avatar to a custom picture and it wouldn't upload. I tried a picture i was able to upload a while ago and it wouldn't work. So something is up.
It would have been a good avatar too.

Angelus
08-30-2016, 07:30 PM
I think maybe this is resolved now.

Angelus
09-08-2016, 10:01 PM
A couple new features:

1) Sharing icons at the top of threads to share on any social media site of your choice.

2) Facebook and twitter links beside the avatar in your posts. You can see I have a little twitter image and facebook image above this post, under the rep bars. They are links that will take you to my twitter and facebook page. You can set these up by going to Settings > Edit Profile > Scroll to bottom and enter into the appropriate text boxes.

OK14
09-08-2016, 10:08 PM
Super cool! Thank you!